A Bike Ride Through Vancouver: 2012 Edition

In 1974, Hans Spima took his Braun Nizo Super 8 camera, equipped with an intervalometer, mounted it on his camera, and went for a ride around Vancouver. Nearly 40 years later, he rigged up a machine to transfer the images from film to his computer and posted the result on Youtube for the world to see.

In 2012, my wife and I took my Canon Powershot D10 camera, hacked with an intervalometer script, mounted it on my camera, and went for a ride around Vancouver. A couple of weeks later, I transferred the images from the memory card to my computer and posted the result on Vimeo for the world to see.

We tried to recreate the route as closely as we could. We mostly succeeded— I’ll leave it to you to figure out where we didn’t. Here’s the route we mostly took.

2 responses to “A Bike Ride Through Vancouver: 2012 Edition”

  1. Sam Talbot says :

    OMG! it’s so good!!! I wanna see both stop motion side by side.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

